Please wait while we process your application. This may take a minute to finish, do not refresh your browser.

Scientific Committee

Scientific Committee Chair: Fedor Lurie

Scientific Committee Members (2023-2025)

Fedor Lurie (Chair, USA)
Efthymios Avgerinos (Greece)
Mamuka Bokuchava (Gerogia)
Marianne de Maeseneer (Belgium)
Jose Diaz (USA)
Suat Doganci (Turkey)
Carlos Hinojosa (Mexico)
Tobias Hirsch (Germany)
Makoto Mo (Japan)
Andrea Obi (USA)
Eduardo Ramaciotti (Brazil)
Gloria Salazar (USA)
Nuttawut Sermsathanasawadi (Thailand)
Andre van Rij (New Zealand)
Laurencia Villalba (Australia)


Mission and Objectives

The mission of the Science Committee (SC) is to promote the science of phlebology for the benefit of patients worldwide by overseeing the scientific quality of conferences being held under the auspices of the UIP and encouraging the conduct of original scientific research, and the development of consensus documents and guidelines, under the auspices of the UIP.

The objectives of the SC include:

  • To identify gaps in knowledge and science and research priorities of immediate and critical importance to phlebology;
  • To design and implement original scientific research in phlebology;
  • To develop consensus documents and guidelines in all aspects of phlebology;
  • To manage the scientific program of the UIP Congresses and Events.


The activities of the UIP SC will include:

  • To form sub-committees to focus on particular areas of research to identify priorities, develop research protocols and guidelines or consensus documents;
  • To design and propose research protocols to be conducted by research institutes, universities or the industry;
  • To develop and publish consensus documents and guidelines;
  • To manage the scientific content of the UIP congresses by
    • Maintaining the blueprint of UIP scientific programmes;
    • Ensuring high standards of scientific contents;
    • Developing and implementing COI policies for the UIP World Congresses and Events in accordance with UIP Code of Conduct Policy (Section 6, Policy Manual);
    • Identifying speakers, moderators, and discussants;
    • Adjudicating abstracts, prizes and travel grants
    • Adjudicating Awards to be conferred during UIP World Congresses;
    • Ensuring CME / CPD points are obtained and awarded;

Editorial Representation

The Chair of SC will represent the UIP on the editorial board of Phlebology, the official journal of the UIP. The UIP representative on the journal editorial board is to assist the editor to ensure the journal receives high quality scientific submissions. The UIP representative will participate in the management of submissions received at the journal and other tasks normally delegated to the associate editor.

Previous Committtee Members

The members for the UIP Scientific Committee from 2020-2022 are listed below. 

Prof. Alun Davies (UK, Chair), Prof. Zhong Chen (China), Dr Devendra Dekiwadia (India), Dr Suat Doganci (Turkey), Dr Nicos Labropoulous (USA), Dr Fedor Lurie (USA), Dr Makoto Mo (Japan), Dr Hernan Bauza Moreno (Argentina), Dr Marc Vuylsteke (Belgium), Dr Igor Zolotukhin (Russia)

Education Committee

Education Committee

The Education Committee will work on new educational profiles such as online courses designed by the previous Executive Committee in which members and delegates will have a teaching role (as coordinators or speakers).
Scientific Committee

Scientific Committee

The UIP EC is committed to transparent and full disclosure of COIs by SC members in order to ensure high quality scientific conferences and research leading to trustworthy, evidence-based clinical practice.
Announcing the UIP Engagement Working Group

UIP Engagement Working Group

Find out more about the UIP Engagement Working Group.