Please wait while we process your application. This may take a minute to finish, do not refresh your browser.

UIP Engagement Working Group

Engagement Working Group Members (2023-2025)

Juan Chunga Pietro (Chair)
Deena Alqedrah
Jesus Arriaga
Nathalia Cardoso Oliveira
Elena Goranova
Takahiro Imai
Jacobo Jaramillo
Tea Mukhuradze
Nicolas Neaume
Danny Pratama
Fanny Rodriguez Santos
Sergio Gianesini (ex-officio)

The UIP Engagement Working Group at UIP2023 in Miami.


The aims of the Engagement Working Group (EWG) are to:

  • To promote engagement of UIP with young health professionals and trainees interested in phlebology.
  • To provide educational support and advocacy for health professionals new to phlebology.


The activities of the UIP EWG include:

  • To propose projects to be carried out by members of the group on behalf of or under the auspices of the UIP.
  • To plan and present at a dedicated EWG scientific session in UIP World Congresses. The aim of the session would be to present results, to welcome new projects and to foster involvement of new members/collaborators of the working group.


The EWG shall be comprised of :

  • the Chair of the Engagement Working Group (Chair)
  • Ex-officio members- UIP Executive Director and UIP President
Ten other members

Selection Criteria

To ensure engagement of a diverse range of members, the following selection criteria will apply:

  • Age- five members to be younger than 40 years of age at the time of application;
  • Gender- minimum of two female members;
  • Region- representation of at least one person from each UIP geographical region;
  • Trainees- minimum of 3 trainees, residents or new phlebology graduates with less than 3 years in practice;
  • Developing nations- minimum of one member from a developing nation;
  • Skills- minimum of 3 members with proven skills in social media/web use.

    Submit a project

    To submit a project to the UIP for consideration, please click here to download the proposal form. When complete, save the file and email it to

    Previous Members (2020-2022)

    Prof. Sergio Gianesini (Chair), Prof. Larisa Cherunkha (Ukraine), Dr Juan Chunga Pietro (Peru), Dr Bahar Fazeli (Iran), Dr Ahmed Gaweesh (UAE), Dr Veronika Golovina (Russia), Dr Ernesto Intriago (Ecuador), Dr Shantonu Kumar Ghosh (Bangladesh), Dr Lucy McKinnon (Australia), Dr Maxim Shaydakov (Russia), Dr Mandy Wong (Canada)

Education Committee

Education Committee

The Education Committee will work on new educational profiles such as online courses designed by the previous Executive Committee in which members and delegates will have a teaching role (as coordinators or speakers).
Scientific Committee

Scientific Committee

The UIP EC is committed to transparent and full disclosure of COIs by SC members in order to ensure high quality scientific conferences and research leading to trustworthy, evidence-based clinical practice.
Announcing the UIP Engagement Working Group

UIP Engagement Working Group

Find out more about the UIP Engagement Working Group.